Cheese Crisps – Kitchen Bites

I’m on this long-term journey to lose weight & be healthier and most of the time I live that life. Hold up…food lover and now food blogger that wants to lose weight? You eat the way you do on your Instagram and you think you can do it? Yeah doesn’t really gel well I know. But bam, 80lbs down (and counting) and I’m doing it. Slowly but surely.  I follow a plan but I’ve had to find my ways to accommodate me into my new lifestyle. I don’t have a sweet tooth my cravings always go into the more savoury variety.

Don’t get me wrong I love sweet treats as much as the next person. But my snacking satisfaction always comes from savoury, salty and almost always crunchy. So given that being low-carb and eating anything like potato chips is out of the question I was delighted to make these babies that combined my savoury snacking habit with another love of mine: CHEESE!!! These are super simple and quick to make and likely will disappear just as fast.

Cheese Crisps
Ingredients/Materials:

  • 1 cup hard cheese (I used Grana Padano but you could also use Parmesan etc.) * Do NOT use the dried powdered version
  • Baking sheet
  • Parchment paper or silicone mat
  • Cooking spray
  • Seasonings (ex: Paprika, garlic powder, black pepper) – optional

Preparation: Preheat oven to 350 F.

IMG_4174[1]

Finely grate your cheese into a bowl   Line baking sheet with parchment paper and spray with cooking spray lightly. You do not need too much as some fat will separate in the oven.

IMG_4177[1]

Pile 1-4 tablespoons (depending on the size you want) of cheese onto your parchment paper. Flatten out the tops slightly to have an even crisp. Depending on size leave 2 inches between smaller piles and 3-4 inches between larger ones.

IMG_4178[1]

Bake 5 to 6 minutes until they are a light golden brown. They will bubble and cook quickly so know your oven, and watch these carefully. Remove from oven and transfer each crisps immediately to a cooling rack. Careful as they will be hot (duh it’s hot cheese).

IMG_4179[1]

If you want to mold them into a shape, you want to “drape” them quickly while still warm and pliable. If you let them cool they will be too crisp and brittle. You can make small bowls/cups over an upside down glass turned glass, or “taco shell” shapes by draping over a rolling-pin etc. Store in airtight container.

IMG_4183[1]

Resist urge to eat them all in one shot. 🙂

Leave a Reply

